Exhibition UTOPIA by Philippe Calandre: October 13 – December 9, 2017
La Galerie Goutal is pleased to present UTOPIAa monograph by Philippe Calandre. The works are from Kepler 425B, Isola Nova and Meta Locus.
For the past ten years, Philippe Calandre‘s work has revolved around architecture and more recently utopia. From 2012, he uses the technique of photomontage to introduce imagination on real sites. The splendor of the landscapes of Philippe Calandre is due to a subtle balance between the past, the future and the present. The use of black and white or of faded colors gives its compositions an a-temporal value. The photographer thus transports us to unspecified countries in which our dreams and our unconscious can project.

These utopias subtly echo a whole literary, architectural and cinematographic culture.

These include Thomas More, founder of the concept of utopia in the 16th century, the Babylonian city of Fritz Lang in the film Metropolis and the futuristic creations of the architect Antonio Sant’Elia.

The originality of Philippe Calandre also resides in the redundancy of the motif of industrial architecture. In the Isola Nova series (commissioned by the Wilmotte Foundation in 2013), it is skilfully interwoven with the prestigious buildings of an ancient Venice. In Méta Locus, it imposes itself on the gaze, bristling with chimneys and silos, like a labyrinth whose entrance and exit can not be found. These strange structures overhang desert landscapes in all their immutable and mysterious beauty.

Emptied of human presence, the architectural utopias of Philippe Calandre are sublimated by the extreme precision he brings to the montage of his images. Their great realism is due in particular to the control of the shadows cast, the luminosity and the melts to the gray which do not let appear the least fitting.

Carried by the creative freedom inspired by the photographic medium, Philippe Calandre came to invent his own forms, pushing back the initial limits of the « camera obscura »

About Philippe Calandre:

Born in Avignon in 1964, he embarked at 16 years old as a moss on a boat. This initiatory journey between the North Atlantic Ocean and the South Pacific will reveal the artistic significance of the great spaces.

Back in France, he becomes a press photographer and finds in the black and white images of Brassaï a source of inspiration.

Philippe Calandre is particularly interested in architectural photography. In all its series, it is based on real shots on which it grafts its own worlds – drawn and then digitized – thus creating an ambiguity between the real and the imaginary.

He collaborated in 2006 with Pina Bausch and in 2014 with Damien Hirst. His work is present in the National Contemporary Art Fund, the Wilmotte Foundation, the Artemide Foundation, La Cornue S.A and many private collections.

UTOPIA  du 13 octobre au 9 décembre 2017

On en Parle

Communiqué de presse UTOPIA / 30.08.2017
Exposition UTOPIA de Philippe Calandre – Merci de contacter la galerie : contact@galerie-goutal.com

Exposition UTOPIA de Philippe Calandre : Du 13 octobre au 9 décembre 2017

La Galerie Goutal est heureuse de vous présenter UTOPIA, une monographie du photographe Philippe Calandre. Les oeuvres réunies sont issues des séries Kepler 425B, Isola Nova et Meta Locus.

Depuis une dizaine d’années, le travail de Philippe Calandre s’articule autour l’architecture et plus récemment de l’utopie. A partir de 2012, il utilise la technique du photomontage pour introduire de l’imaginaire sur des sites réels. La splendeur des paysages de Philippe Calandre tient à un équilibre subtil entre le passé, le futur et le présent. L’utilisation du noir et blanc ou bien de couleurs estompées donne à ses compositions une valeur a-temporelle.

Le photographe nous transporte ainsi vers des contrées indéterminées dans lesquelles nos rêves et notre inconscient peuvent se projeter.

Ces utopies font subtilement écho à toute une culture littéraire, architecturale et cinématographique.

On pense notamment à Thomas More, fondateur du concept de l’utopie au XVIème siècle, à la cité babélienne de Fritz Lang dans le film Métropolis, et aux créations futuristes de l’architecte Antonio Sant’Elia.

L’originalité du travail de Philippe Calandre réside aussi dans la récurrence du motif de l’architecture industrielle. Dans la série Isola Nova (commande de la Fondation Wilmotte en 2013), elle s’imbrique savamment aux bâtis prestigieux d’une Venise ancienne. Dans Méta Locus, elle s’impose au regard, hérissée de cheminées et de silos, telle un labyrinthe dont on ne peut trouver ni l’entrée ni la sortie. Ces structures étranges surplombent des paysages désertiques dans toute leur immuable et mystérieuse beauté.

Vides de présence humaine, les utopies architecturales de Philippe Calandre sont sublimées par la précision extrême qu’il apporte au montage de ses images. Leur grand réalisme tient notamment à la maîtrise des ombres portées à la luminosité et aux fondus au gris qui ne laissent transparaître le moindre raccord.

Porté par la liberté de création que lui inspire le médium photographique, Philippe Calandre en est venu à inventer ses propres formes repoussant ainsi les limites initiales de la «camera obscura».

A propos de Philippe Calandre:

Né à Avignon en 1964, il embarque à 16 ans comme mousse sur un bateau. Ce voyage initiatique entre l’Océan atlantique du nord et le Pacifique sud lui révélera la portée artistique des grands espaces.

De retour en France, il devient photographe de presse et trouve dans les images en noir et blanc de Brassaï une source d’inspiration.

Philippe Calandre s’intéresse particulièrement à la photographie architecturale. Dans toutes ses séries, il prend appui sur des prises de vues réelles sur lesquelles il greffe ses propres mondes -dessinés puis numérisés- créant ainsi une ambiguïté entre le réel et l’imaginaire.

Il collabore en 2006 avec Pina Bausch et en 2014 avec Damien Hirst. Son oeuvre est présente dans le Fonds national d’art contemporain, la Fondation Wilmotte, la Fondation Artemide, La Cornue S.A et de nombreuses collections privées.